Going beyond the PowerPoint: Prezi and Slideshare

I have always used PowerPoint for the preparation of presentations. Although PowerPoint tends to be a little bit mundane I have found it to be very effective. Thing 17 asked us to explore Prezi and SlideShare as tools for presentations. I am writing this short blog post with my thoughts on both of these tools.

Prezi – Prezi is a presentation software which allows you to “tell a story” through the use of a visual canvas. What I liked most about Prezi is that it allows you to zoom in and out. When faced with long sections of text in classes this function can really help you to show students what is important. You can even use the zoom function to expand the meaning of a particular word. This could be particularly useful for foreign students who are often not familiar with all the terminology found in class presentations. It also seems very easy to incorporate images and videos into Prezi presentations. I really liked the concept of Prezi, however, I will definitely not be adopting it in class as after 10 minutes of viewing Prezi presentations I felt completely dizzy and sea sick!!!

Slideshare Slideshare is a large community for sharing knowledge such as presentations and other professional content. I have already used slideshare before and find it an excellent way of getting ideas for my own presentations. I have found the following presentation about different learning styles which was posted by BrentVAn3 onto Slideshare:

Leave a comment